Keith Sherwin
Site Admin
Nickname: Keith
Laser Machine Make or Type: POS China
Laser Power: 80
Laser Bed Size: 400 x 600
Home Position: TL
RDWorks Version: V8.01.23
Accessories: Hot dog roller, doHICkey Power Meter, Multi-Lens, High power exhaust, Interior filter soon.
Windows Version: W7 Pro

Simplify3D for 3D Printing ?

Post by Keith Sherwin » Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:10 pm

:?: NOT LASER -
Just wondering if any of you folks that are 3D Printer users have tried "Simplify3D" vs the freebies. I'm thinking that at US$149, it had better be fantastic. Seems they don't offer a free trial.

As I am just getting into this (have not printed anything yet), would it be a good investment or would it be a REQUIRED Investment?
:idea: Started this forum Lead in creation of the RDWorksLab English Manual.
Cheers,
Keith

fred ungewitter
Nickname: fred
Laser Machine Make or Type: Redsail Clone
Laser Power: 60W
Laser Bed Size: 500 x 700
Home Position: TR
RDWorks Version: 8.01.18
Accessories: Chuck style rotary, 30 ma meter, home-spun office water cooler mod, muffin fan anti-condensate blower
Windows Version: Windows 7

Re: Simplify3D for 3D Printing ?

Post by fred ungewitter » Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:35 pm

I'm using Simplify3D for my 3d printer currently in use and am hopeful that the one not yet assembled will work just as well. It has a level of control unparalleled by those programs I've used up to now. There are some features I wish were implemented in another manner, but those same features are not easily accessed (if at all) with most of the free software.

I understand that craftware is a good comparison to S3D:

https://craftunique.com/craftware

and it has received good reviews from YouTubers with far more experience than I.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USA29CuYOvk
Angus covers a number of the freebies and provides some good criticism. Part two of the video above is linked when you view part one.