How to re-scale a 3D model

A place to discuss other software like PhotoGrav, A-Cad, Aspire, PhotoShop, Vextractor and Corel to name a few.
Post Reply
Kevin Rodden
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:32 pm
Location: Leigh, Lancashire. UK

How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by Kevin Rodden » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:52 am

How do i go about re scaling a 3D model so i can use any thickness of material?

Thank you for looking.
Kev
60W 700x500 TR
Kev

User avatar
fred ungewitter
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:55 pm
Location: East Central FL, USA
Country: USA
Real Name: fred ungewitte
Nickname: fred
Laser Machine Make or Type: Redsail Clone
Laser Power: 60W
Laser Bed Size: 500 x 700
Home Position: TR
RDWorks Version: 8.01.18
Windows Version: Windows 7
Accessories: Chuck style rotary, 30 ma meter, home-spun office water cooler mod, muffin fan anti-condensate blower

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by fred ungewitter » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:00 am

Can you provide additional information regarding your model? What format is the file? STL files are common for 3d models and there are many free programs capable of scaling that type of file. Meshmixer comes to mind, although it is best suited for organic models. It will easily scale an engineering/orthographic type model, however. TinkerCAD probably will do well and it is free. Fusion 360 is free for non-commercial use, but is far more complex and would not be my first choice for scaling a 3d model. If the format is not STL, disregard the above advice.
fred

Redsail clone 60w 700 x 500 REAL 60w Puri tube
home upper right, chuck type rotary 15000 pulse setting
RDW 8.01.18
Win7

Emblaser A3 4w diode laser
BCN3D Sigma Dual Extruder 3d printer
LMS Mini-mill
Cube 3rd gen 3d printer, universal filament mod
Under construction: OX CNC 1000x750 router

Kevin Rodden
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:32 pm
Location: Leigh, Lancashire. UK

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by Kevin Rodden » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:20 am

fred ungewitter wrote:Can you provide additional information regarding your model? What format is the file? STL files are common for 3d models and there are many free programs capable of scaling that type of file. Meshmixer comes to mind, although it is best suited for organic models. It will easily scale an engineering/orthographic type model, however. TinkerCAD probably will do well and it is free. Fusion 360 is free for non-commercial use, but is far more complex and would not be my first choice for scaling a 3d model. If the format is not STL, disregard the above advice.
Thank you for the reply Fred.
I have a couple files that i would like to cut in thicker material.
They are all DXF files
60W 700x500 TR
Kev

User avatar
fred ungewitter
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:55 pm
Location: East Central FL, USA
Country: USA
Real Name: fred ungewitte
Nickname: fred
Laser Machine Make or Type: Redsail Clone
Laser Power: 60W
Laser Bed Size: 500 x 700
Home Position: TR
RDWorks Version: 8.01.18
Windows Version: Windows 7
Accessories: Chuck style rotary, 30 ma meter, home-spun office water cooler mod, muffin fan anti-condensate blower

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by fred ungewitter » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:05 pm

I'm yet a bit confused. Is the model a 3D model because it occupies "three-space," that is, X, Y and Z coordinates? If it's a flat DXF, it's only a 2D model and there are many programs that will rescale that type of file.

I'm probably in over my head, but are you able to import the file you have into RDWorks? There's a full x/y scale adjustment in that program.

What I've seen for laser engraving is usually 2D and occasionally what is called 2.5D in that there are varying levels of depth to the cut/engrave process.

Johnny Five: "Need more input!"
fred

Redsail clone 60w 700 x 500 REAL 60w Puri tube
home upper right, chuck type rotary 15000 pulse setting
RDW 8.01.18
Win7

Emblaser A3 4w diode laser
BCN3D Sigma Dual Extruder 3d printer
LMS Mini-mill
Cube 3rd gen 3d printer, universal filament mod
Under construction: OX CNC 1000x750 router

User avatar
Gene Uselman
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: Suburban Minneapolis, Minnesota, US

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by Gene Uselman » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:47 pm

Building on Fred's explaination... if you have thicker material, you would refocus and use the appropriate power and speed setting for the material. Gene
Gene- 130W 1300x900 China Laser with 2" FL lens
V8.01.19 RDWorks on Win 7 pro
500mm Z, blade table - home is upper right.

Bodor BCL0605MU w/100w Reci- gone but [fondly?] remembered :D
Semi-Retired Signshop guy [not good at retiring yet]
Vectric Aspire software- FlexiSignPro- vector/bitmap
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. Thomas Edison

Kevin Rodden
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:32 pm
Location: Leigh, Lancashire. UK

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by Kevin Rodden » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:42 pm

Sorry for the possible confusion in my description.
I have a design of a butterfly that consist of several pieces, these are joined together by the slots that are cut out in the design
The slots measure 1.5mm but i was wanting to use a thicker material 3mm and was thinking that i might be able to just resize the design in order to suit any thickness of material.
I can open the design in both RD Works and Aspire.
It similar to this design.https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/171699804518133470/


Ta
Kev
60W 700x500 TR
Kev

User avatar
fred ungewitter
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:55 pm
Location: East Central FL, USA
Country: USA
Real Name: fred ungewitte
Nickname: fred
Laser Machine Make or Type: Redsail Clone
Laser Power: 60W
Laser Bed Size: 500 x 700
Home Position: TR
RDWorks Version: 8.01.18
Windows Version: Windows 7
Accessories: Chuck style rotary, 30 ma meter, home-spun office water cooler mod, muffin fan anti-condensate blower

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by fred ungewitter » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:13 pm

Aha! That very much clarifies things. I did something similar with a dinosaur model. It was engineered for 1.0 mm thick material and I wanted to cut it for 3.0 mm plywood. I'm pretty sure I loaded the file into inkscape, but many 2D cad programs will do the same. I found that the gap was not precisely 1.0 mm for clearance. I took a number of measurements and averaged them, then did a bit of math, and figured that the aforementioned gap of 1.0 which measured out to 1.12 mm should not be 3.0 mm but should be more like 3.15 mm. Doing the math, 3.13 divided by 1.12 resulted in a factor of 2.795 and used the scale tool to kick it up.

The dinosaur went from a 50 mm x 75 mm panel to a 150 x 225 mm approximately. Your model is likely to increase as well.

You can perform the necessary measurement of a slot by selecting it in RDWorks. If it is part of a group and you don't want to mess with ungrouping, create another layer and draw a line over top of the location. You'll then have a figure from which you can perform the aforementioned math. You should then be able to create a scale change for the entire drawing. You'd also be able to select the segment of line you created and confirm the new length in the parameter window that presents such information across the top.

What you have is not really a 3D model, but a two dimensional method of building an assembly model that is 3D. Good thing too, as it makes the entire project all that much easier. Two, maybe three steps, boom.
fred

Redsail clone 60w 700 x 500 REAL 60w Puri tube
home upper right, chuck type rotary 15000 pulse setting
RDW 8.01.18
Win7

Emblaser A3 4w diode laser
BCN3D Sigma Dual Extruder 3d printer
LMS Mini-mill
Cube 3rd gen 3d printer, universal filament mod
Under construction: OX CNC 1000x750 router

Kevin Rodden
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:32 pm
Location: Leigh, Lancashire. UK

Re: How to re-scale a 3D model

Post by Kevin Rodden » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:48 pm

Thank you so much Fred, i really appreciate your support.
I will try it out over the weekend.

Thanks
Kev
60W 700x500 TR
Kev

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest