Scan option doesn't fill in preview

RDWorks Software
Post Reply
Eric Muijtjens
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:15 am
Location: Eijsden Limburg
Country: Nederland
Nickname: Flupke85
Laser Machine Make or Type: 140x90 130W
Laser Power: 130
Laser Bed Size: 140x90
Home Position: BR
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.60
Ruida Controller: Other
Accessories: Autofocus
Windows Version: 10

Scan option doesn't fill in preview

Post by Eric Muijtjens »

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, but not new with RD works.
In older versions I always had a filled figure when "Scan" was selected. Now in version 8.01.60 I only see the outline.
When I go to "Preview" I can see that it is scanning, so the problem is not an open loop in a DXF or something.
Is this a setting, or just a problem in this version?
User avatar
Gene Uselman
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: Suburban Minneapolis, Minnesota, US
Country: USA
Nickname: Gene
Laser Machine Make or Type: AKL1318-2
Laser Power: 130W & 80W Reci
Laser Bed Size: 51 x 71
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: RDw .19 & Lightburn
Ruida Controller: RDC6445
Accessories: I have a combining lenses, pin tables [homebuilt], honeycomb tables , wireless remote, Modifed Ultimate Air Assist, home built non-powered rotary device, Prusa i3 MK3S and Mini Prusa printers.
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro

Re: Scan option doesn't fill in preview

Post by Gene Uselman »

There is an option to fill engravings in the tabs at the top- forget which one as I have been using Lightburn for a couple years.
If the Help and advice you received here was of VALUE...
Please consider making a donation to maintain the RDWORKSLAB Forum.

BT48 Alpha Shopbot and 1300x1800 130W Laser

The days that I keep my gratitude higher than
my expectations, Well, I have really good days.

Ray Wylie Hubbard
Edouard Connor
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 2:02 pm
Location: paris
Country: france
Laser Machine Make or Type: chinese 80w / chinese 40w
Laser Power: 80w
Laser Bed Size: 19 x 27
Home Position: TL
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.28
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Windows Version: windows 10

Re: Scan option doesn't fill in preview

Post by Edouard Connor »

For numbers :
I only see that
edit ->set cut property and
Check show number ??
or
Image

Otherwise can be on a coreldraw or illustrator plugin.

Otherwise on one of the many software they have created for the different controllers.

For colors :

menu CONFIG and select Graph hatch.
Image


If the filling does not work when you have checked graph hatch, it is because the software is buggy, a bit like when you do a show path and you move elements and you have to do a cut, optimize/ select and deselection Order of layer, for reboot. So if that doesn't work you go to the menu and you select and deselect options, that should reboot the bug.
Eric Muijtjens
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:15 am
Location: Eijsden Limburg
Country: Nederland
Nickname: Flupke85
Laser Machine Make or Type: 140x90 130W
Laser Power: 130
Laser Bed Size: 140x90
Home Position: BR
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.60
Ruida Controller: Other
Accessories: Autofocus
Windows Version: 10

Re: Scan option doesn't fill in preview

Post by Eric Muijtjens »

Thanks for the help. Please explain your last sentence:
If the filling does not work when you have checked graph hatch, it is because the software is buggy, a bit like when you do a show path and you move elements and you have to do a cut, optimize/ select and deselection Order of layer, for reboot. So if that doesn't work you go to the menu and you select and deselect options, that should reboot the bug.

I don't understand.
Edouard Connor
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 2:02 pm
Location: paris
Country: france
Laser Machine Make or Type: chinese 80w / chinese 40w
Laser Power: 80w
Laser Bed Size: 19 x 27
Home Position: TL
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.28
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Windows Version: windows 10

Re: Scan option doesn't fill in preview

Post by Edouard Connor »

I hope I was able to help you :)

Disregard my last sentence.

The rdwork software sometimes has small bugs.
It does not display what it should display.


To solve this kind of problem you have to play with menu options or others, example:

An option of the menu or settings which is already activated, it will have to be deactivated then reactivated. Or vice versa.
Or in the case of the "show path" you just have to open the "cut optimizes" menu and click on ok.

This will have the effect of telling the software to save the values ​​and options, and to modify them in those.

The developers have sometimes made small mistakes when adding small additional options. Nothing really serious.

When you do a "show path" for example, you can see the execution order of your machine, you see a path that your nozzle will follow and which tells you the cutting order.
Imagine that you have created several objects to be cut, the show path will create a path following the order of creation of your objects.
The head will first cut out the first shape you created, then the second...

But in reality this plot is wrong, if you have set the "cut Optimize" option.

(You can check it, if you do "preview" you will see that the machine will not necessarily follow the same execution paths as those indicated by the "show path".)

And to see the actual plot that your machine will make, you must go to the "handle" menu then to "cut optimizes" then click on "OK", which will update the plot of the "show path".

Be careful though, there is another Bug, if you have plots with an OUTPUT on NO, it will tell the machine that you do not want to execute this plot, but the show path will show it to you anyway. (The developers should have removed the disabled plots from the "show path", but they forgot to do it :/ )

You have to understand that rdwork is free software, and that it has evolved over time, it has some display bugs, but nothing really serious. You just have to do a "preview" and know how to configure it well to get the desired result ^^



Personally I use it and I've never really had a problem, productivity level they work very well too, but I can understand that small defects can be annoying for someone who doesn't have time to understand or look how to solve them, ligthburn must be better designed but it's paid version and i don't know it :)

In the professional environment, the speed of realization is important especially for large projects, and therefore it is necessary to know a minimum of the options, to optimize time and thus save production time :)

Not knowing ligthburn and not having the time to relearn everything on it, I may have neglected it wrongly, I would have to test one day ^^
Eric Muijtjens
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:15 am
Location: Eijsden Limburg
Country: Nederland
Nickname: Flupke85
Laser Machine Make or Type: 140x90 130W
Laser Power: 130
Laser Bed Size: 140x90
Home Position: BR
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.60
Ruida Controller: Other
Accessories: Autofocus
Windows Version: 10

Re: Scan option doesn't fill in preview

Post by Eric Muijtjens »

Problem solved. I don't know how, but suddenly I saw filled letters. I guess the new version grouped lines on a different way than the previous version, and that's why I couldn't fill it. Thanks for the help guys.
Post Reply

Return to “RDWorks Software”