What is the ampere meter used for?

If you have made Upgrades and/or Modifications to your machine, let us know about them here.
Post Reply
Edouard Connor
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 2:02 pm
Location: paris
Country: france
Laser Machine Make or Type: chinese 80w / chinese 40w
Laser Power: 80w
Laser Bed Size: 19 x 27
Home Position: TL
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.28
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Windows Version: windows 10

What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Edouard Connor »

Hello,
I have a little question,

i have used an 80w engraver for over two years with no problems, i had a cw-3000 cooler.

I produced a lot of things intensively.

In upgrades I often see the ampere meter, without really understanding the usefulness.

If someone can explain to me :)
User avatar
Gene Uselman
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: Suburban Minneapolis, Minnesota, US
Country: USA
Nickname: Gene
Laser Machine Make or Type: AKL1318-2
Laser Power: 130W & 80W Reci
Laser Bed Size: 51 x 71
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: RDw .19 & Lightburn
Ruida Controller: RDC6445
Accessories: I have a combining lenses, pin tables [homebuilt], honeycomb tables , wireless remote, Modifed Ultimate Air Assist, home built non-powered rotary device, Prusa i3 MK3S and Mini Prusa printers.
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Gene Uselman »

mA meters measure the current to the glass tube- that is the definitive way to set your max power settings. There are max safe and max charts for the tube wattage if it is not on the tube itself. Better quality tubes have an [often handwritten] safe and max range on them. On my 130 tubes I normally run at 28 mA and up to 30 mA if I need more power [ the higher current breaks the tube down quicker ].
If the Help and advice you received here was of VALUE...
Please consider making a donation to maintain the RDWORKSLAB Forum.

BT48 Alpha Shopbot and 1300x1800 130W Laser

The days that I keep my gratitude higher than
my expectations, Well, I have really good days.

Ray Wylie Hubbard
Edouard Connor
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 2:02 pm
Location: paris
Country: france
Laser Machine Make or Type: chinese 80w / chinese 40w
Laser Power: 80w
Laser Bed Size: 19 x 27
Home Position: TL
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.28
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Windows Version: windows 10

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Edouard Connor »

Ok I understand better, thank you for this explanation :)
User avatar
Gene Uselman
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: Suburban Minneapolis, Minnesota, US
Country: USA
Nickname: Gene
Laser Machine Make or Type: AKL1318-2
Laser Power: 130W & 80W Reci
Laser Bed Size: 51 x 71
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: RDw .19 & Lightburn
Ruida Controller: RDC6445
Accessories: I have a combining lenses, pin tables [homebuilt], honeycomb tables , wireless remote, Modifed Ultimate Air Assist, home built non-powered rotary device, Prusa i3 MK3S and Mini Prusa printers.
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Gene Uselman »

The meters are cheap and very easy to install in the negative wire from the tube. They are very useful in our journey to be good laser operators.
If the Help and advice you received here was of VALUE...
Please consider making a donation to maintain the RDWORKSLAB Forum.

BT48 Alpha Shopbot and 1300x1800 130W Laser

The days that I keep my gratitude higher than
my expectations, Well, I have really good days.

Ray Wylie Hubbard
Edouard Connor
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 2:02 pm
Location: paris
Country: france
Laser Machine Make or Type: chinese 80w / chinese 40w
Laser Power: 80w
Laser Bed Size: 19 x 27
Home Position: TL
Control Software: RDWORKS
RDWorks Version: 8.01.28
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Windows Version: windows 10

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Edouard Connor »

I understand, I will do the necessary :)
Johnny Smith
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 4:54 am
Location: Melbourne
Country: Australia
Nickname: John
Laser Machine Make or Type: Chinese Red/Black
Laser Power: 100W
Laser Bed Size: 700x500
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: V8.01.67
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Accessories: RECI W2 100W Tube
DY13 Power Supply
ARLEC PA1206HA Portable AirCon as water chiller
Windows Version: 10

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Johnny Smith »

This deleted by authors request.

Outcome: Well after a premature death of my 60W tube, I've replaced that with a RECI 100W tube at great expense and I've adjusted the power supply itself to deliver 80% of the maximum recommended mA.....Russ has a YouTube video about laser tube power versus mA basically saying that above 80% power you really don't see much gain at all....and my own experience reflects that also. At 80% max recommended power, I lost no speed at all when cutting.

Anyway, now when I set my controllers laser power to 100%, I know that my laser is actually being fired at no more than 80% of the manufacturers maximum recommended power for the tube thereby prolonging the life of the tube....I hope..my controller tells me the laser has been firing for a total of about 120 hours now!!. Most users would probably set the 100% power to equal 100% recommended mA, ie. 20mA if we take the above example (will be different for each brand/wattage of tube). After the very significant expense of replacing my tube, I'm now being somewhat conservative.

Hope this helps others.
User avatar
Gene Uselman
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: Suburban Minneapolis, Minnesota, US
Country: USA
Nickname: Gene
Laser Machine Make or Type: AKL1318-2
Laser Power: 130W & 80W Reci
Laser Bed Size: 51 x 71
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: RDw .19 & Lightburn
Ruida Controller: RDC6445
Accessories: I have a combining lenses, pin tables [homebuilt], honeycomb tables , wireless remote, Modifed Ultimate Air Assist, home built non-powered rotary device, Prusa i3 MK3S and Mini Prusa printers.
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Gene Uselman »

Johnny- I am afraid that your first paragraph is faulty. You are mixing two types of CO2 tubes- almost all of ours are not PWM and should always be set to 20k freq- the current is varied by the program to produce different levels of power. I believe most PWM tubes are metal and rechargeable, but a few are glass and not rechargeable. Russ @ Sarbar Media has explored this quite thoroughly on Youtube.
If the Help and advice you received here was of VALUE...
Please consider making a donation to maintain the RDWORKSLAB Forum.

BT48 Alpha Shopbot and 1300x1800 130W Laser

The days that I keep my gratitude higher than
my expectations, Well, I have really good days.

Ray Wylie Hubbard
Johnny Smith
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 4:54 am
Location: Melbourne
Country: Australia
Nickname: John
Laser Machine Make or Type: Chinese Red/Black
Laser Power: 100W
Laser Bed Size: 700x500
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: V8.01.67
Ruida Controller: RDC6442
Accessories: RECI W2 100W Tube
DY13 Power Supply
ARLEC PA1206HA Portable AirCon as water chiller
Windows Version: 10

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Johnny Smith »

Hi Gene, well if that's the case, I need to do some research to gain a proper understanding. In the meantime, how can my post be deleted (can't find an option for that or even an edit option) as I don't want anyone wasting their time on misinformation or worse doing something incorrectly to their laser that might have a negative effect.
User avatar
Gene Uselman
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: Suburban Minneapolis, Minnesota, US
Country: USA
Nickname: Gene
Laser Machine Make or Type: AKL1318-2
Laser Power: 130W & 80W Reci
Laser Bed Size: 51 x 71
Home Position: TR
Control Software: LIGHTBURN
RDWorks Version: RDw .19 & Lightburn
Ruida Controller: RDC6445
Accessories: I have a combining lenses, pin tables [homebuilt], honeycomb tables , wireless remote, Modifed Ultimate Air Assist, home built non-powered rotary device, Prusa i3 MK3S and Mini Prusa printers.
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro

Re: What is the ampere meter used for?

Post by Gene Uselman »

Only board moderators can delete I believe, I handled this for you. I think the rest of the post is important as far as limiting your power in the power supply- I assume all modern power supplies have this feature and it would be good to let people know how to do this.
If the Help and advice you received here was of VALUE...
Please consider making a donation to maintain the RDWORKSLAB Forum.

BT48 Alpha Shopbot and 1300x1800 130W Laser

The days that I keep my gratitude higher than
my expectations, Well, I have really good days.

Ray Wylie Hubbard
Post Reply

Return to “Upgrades and Modifications”