How do I know if I can upgrade?

RDWorks and Links.
User avatar
Keith Sherwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Heart of Canada

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Keith Sherwin » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:43 am

Could not open that file with V8.01.19.
I am thinking that you need to run the Uninstall (in the RDWorksV8 Folder), run CC again, Delete the folder RDWorksV8, then REBOOT,
Then Install, run program, quit. Then run the Uninstall (in the RDWorksV8 Folder), run CC again, Delete the folder RDWorksV8, then REBOOT,
then try installing one more time.
You still will NOT be able to open your attached file, but hopefully you will be able to save in the current format.

I had this difficulty a long time ago (6-8 months) and that was how I fixed it. Very Frustrating, but it finally got fixed.
Here is a file that you can open in V8.01.18 or 19, if you have it working correctly.

Merry Christmas.rld
Merry Christmas
(351.19 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
69 Real (80)Watt Laser w/multi FL lenses. T.L.
Made 5 CNC's, Electronics, Electrical, PLC & Computer background.
:idea: Started this forum - Using RDWorks V8.01.21 on W7 Pro
Lead in creation of the RDWorksLab English Manual.
Crazy Uncle Keith!

User avatar
Keith Sherwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Heart of Canada

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Keith Sherwin » Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:39 am

This one might be more Appropriate for Tomorrow!

Turkey.rld
Turkey
(396.99 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
69 Real (80)Watt Laser w/multi FL lenses. T.L.
Made 5 CNC's, Electronics, Electrical, PLC & Computer background.
:idea: Started this forum - Using RDWorks V8.01.21 on W7 Pro
Lead in creation of the RDWorksLab English Manual.
Crazy Uncle Keith!

Mark Franich
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:44 am
Location: Hutton UK

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Mark Franich » Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:41 am

Hi Doug. I just tried to open that file in 7.0.04 and it came up with an error and then opened with no content.
Bodor 1060 100 watt
1000mm x 600mm
Top Right
Mark

Pete Cyr
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Pete Cyr » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:03 am

Doug Zimmer - did you figure out the issue with the "File format error!Please check file version" error.
Out of the blue I am experiencing the same problem.
Location - VA
Equipment - Boss Laser 1630
Power - 100W
Laser Bed Size - 16" x 30"
Home Position - TR
Full RDWorks Version - v8.01.18
First name - Pete

Pete Cyr
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Pete Cyr » Tue Dec 13, 2016 3:54 am

I found the source of my issue.
The DXF files I down loaded from "Files & INDEX from RD Works Learning Lab " corrupted my system but only affected RDWorks.
Any RLD file that existed prior to opening one of the DFX could be opend and save with out issue.
Any file created after importing a DFX downloaded from "Files & INDEX from RD Works Learning Lab " could be saved but when reopening gave the error.
SO I got rid of all the DXFs - deleted RD WORKS and all associations, reloaed RD Works and now I have no issues.
Location - VA
Equipment - Boss Laser 1630
Power - 100W
Laser Bed Size - 16" x 30"
Home Position - TR
Full RDWorks Version - v8.01.18
First name - Pete

User avatar
Keith Sherwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Heart of Canada

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Keith Sherwin » Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:11 am

What files in particular caused the problem?
As those files were supplied by Russ, we will need to test them.
69 Real (80)Watt Laser w/multi FL lenses. T.L.
Made 5 CNC's, Electronics, Electrical, PLC & Computer background.
:idea: Started this forum - Using RDWorks V8.01.21 on W7 Pro
Lead in creation of the RDWorksLab English Manual.
Crazy Uncle Keith!

Pete Cyr
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Pete Cyr » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:35 am

I downloaded
MK6 Pointer
Focus Ramp
Focus Gauges
Beam Targets

One or all of these created the issue.
What ever the issue may be, it is such that when I shared a file I created several days after after using those dfx files (I created a completly different file that did not use the DFX files) it corrupted the user's RDWorks that I passed the file to. The problem spreads to new files created after using one of the DFX files.

The resolution was fairly simple but irritating to discern.
I searched the Forum for any other instance of the issue and was planning to do a bit more testing to isolate the issue but if you are going to perfom testing I won't. I recommend using a system you don't mind reloading RD Works. I wan not able to find any virus or malware in the files nor did the issue affect my operating system or other programs. The fault in my case was limited to RDWorks and only prevented opening new files created with an RLD extension after importing one of the DXF file. I was able to export all of the DXFs as a *.ai file and reload the *ai file with out issue.
Location - VA
Equipment - Boss Laser 1630
Power - 100W
Laser Bed Size - 16" x 30"
Home Position - TR
Full RDWorks Version - v8.01.18
First name - Pete

User avatar
Keith Sherwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Heart of Canada

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Keith Sherwin » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:18 am

I have tried all of these files, created RLD files, saved, opened, opened other files, saved other files and could not get the results you had. I would suggest that you do further testing.
Please attach the file that you shared with the system that corrupted the other users system. As you are talking about ANOTHER user that had trouble, it is unknown what version of software was used and what the other users situation is. Too many degrees of separation. There are situations that can cause other files to not load, and the solution can be quite obtuse but, generally, reloading a full install does fix that, although it CAN take several tries to get it to function properly. I believe this was mostly caused by V8.01.16 or .17
69 Real (80)Watt Laser w/multi FL lenses. T.L.
Made 5 CNC's, Electronics, Electrical, PLC & Computer background.
:idea: Started this forum - Using RDWorks V8.01.21 on W7 Pro
Lead in creation of the RDWorksLab English Manual.
Crazy Uncle Keith!

Pete Cyr
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Pete Cyr » Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:03 am

Ok I will fwd the file to you when I get home.
I shared the file with BOSS Laser -they were running v8.01.18 - they put on two different computers with the same result.
The only version of RDWORKS I have ever used is v8.01.18 but I understand you comments.
Thank you.
Pete
Location - VA
Equipment - Boss Laser 1630
Power - 100W
Laser Bed Size - 16" x 30"
Home Position - TR
Full RDWorks Version - v8.01.18
First name - Pete

User avatar
Keith Sherwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Heart of Canada

Re: How do I know if I can upgrade?

Postby Keith Sherwin » Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:08 am

What version was the other person using? That is the more pertinent question. Had they ever used V8.01.16? or an earlier version?
Just send the file to me by PM.
Thanks
69 Real (80)Watt Laser w/multi FL lenses. T.L.
Made 5 CNC's, Electronics, Electrical, PLC & Computer background.
:idea: Started this forum - Using RDWorks V8.01.21 on W7 Pro
Lead in creation of the RDWorksLab English Manual.
Crazy Uncle Keith!


Return to “RDWorks Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest